Go figure!

I have become a Christmas – Easter blogger (My last blog was just before Christmas.).  I apologize for this, but I have a good excuse.  Remember, I write a newsletter article every month (You can access these articles from this webpage.).  I also preach almost every Sunday.  These other “blogs” have a different purpose than this one.  If you go way back to the beginning of this blog, you will remember that the purpose of this blog is to convince a skeptical person to try to believe in Jesus.  In this regard, an Easter blog poses the most challenging communication task imaginable.  I am attempting to convince you, a religious skeptic, that Jesus rose from the dead as Christians claim he did.  Preposterous!  People do not rise from the dead!  And yet, that is the central claim of Christianity (Around AD 55, Paul (formerly Saul) of Tarsus, wrote, “If Christ has not been raised, your faith is futile…and we Christians are of all people most to be pitied.” (1 Corinthians 15:17ff)How true.  Paul offers proof of the resurrection, but it is all subjective –“I delivered to you what I received –that Christ…was raised on the third day and that he appeared to Cephas, then to the twelve, then to more than five hundred at one time, then to James, then to all the apostles, and last of all, to me.”  (1 Corinthians 15:3-8)   There are no objective, or scientifically verifiable accounts of Jesus or anyone else rising from the dead.  And yet, people like me, a scientist (BS Biochemistry, U of M, 1971) believe it. Go figure!

About olafpastordale

Pastor at St. Olaf Lutheran Church, North Minneapolis

Posted on April 13, 2014, in St. Olaf. Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. I have thoroughly enjoyed stumbling upon your blog site! Keep with the posts that make you stop and think! I look forward to the next!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

